The Tale Of My Brave Little Plants

Hello, everyone! It’s me, Sarah! The world’s very worst blog writer! (Note: I reject the term “blogger” because it gets caught in your throat in a weird way when you say it and I don’t like that feeling. It’s just me. I’m strange. So blog writer it is).

One unique thing about summer in Alaska is the immense amount of sunlight. While in the winter we were down to 3.5 hours of daylight at the darkest, now we are experiencing the exact opposite. The sun “sets” after midnight and even when it does set it’s just kind of a sad little gray. No darkness.

IMG_6592
Check out that sunrise and sunset time. Oh yeah.

Despite our summers being short (summer runs end of May until September), the immense amount of sunlight means that gardening is super popular. Alaskan produce is known for growing quickly and some produce can become enormous.

Towards the end of the school year I decided it was time for me to join in on the fun despite 1) having no experience gardening and 2) having no idea what I was doing. So I diligently planted my little seeds and faithfully watered them every day. I sent pictures of the sprouts to my parents and in-laws. (I have no kids or pets. Can you tell?) I was so excited! When I was about to take a trip out of town I realized I had no one to water my little seeds. So I put them in the gracious care of a kind friend who offered to water them for me and I left them at her house. Apparently, seed-plants can go into shock when they leave their house and despite her valiant efforts they did not make it. (It was not her fault. She is an excellent plant babysitter). But the story doesn’t end there.

I took my little seed cells back and put them in my garage to throw away. I had  given up on them because by all accounts they were completely dead. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I had put them by my trash can right underneath a window that receives a lot of sun. Today when I went into my garage again to take out the trash, lo and behold…

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My sweet peas and oregano are going strong! They were right next to the trash but still refused to accept defeat. A living picture of resilience. It was such a picture of hope to me. There was a poem buried deep in those little seeds and it came right out without any help or effort from me. How beautiful. It was my own tiny miracle and it was truly wonderful. No matter that some of my plants didn’t make it, these few did and that’s okay by me.

I don’t want to overdo it by talking about metaphors too much and beating the beauty of the story out by talking too much, so I think I will leave it at that.

But I do hope that these plants are a brilliant metaphor for this Alaskan summer.

Author: thisminkuslife

follower of Jesus | military spouse | lover of the written word

One thought on “The Tale Of My Brave Little Plants”

Leave a Reply

